The Land of Boys

Learning to live in a house full of testosterone

Something Really Random

I have no idea why this memory would surface. A few nights ago, I was getting ready for bed and something just popped into my head. When I was in Kindergarten, a gypsy fortune teller came to our school. I am not sure why. She came into our classroom and read our palms. She also had a crystal ball and a spider. It was a big spider that she held on her hand and let people pet. EWWW! My fortune was that I would grow up to be a secretary. She said she could me sitting on my boss’s lap! What kind of person says this to a FIVE YEAR OLD?!??!?!?!?! I really didn’t think anything bad because A.) I was FIVE! Five year olds sit in grown ups laps all the time. B.) My mother watched a lot of soap operas that had women sitting on their boss’s laps. I thought it was normal.

My grandmother had a  fit when I came home from school. I didn’t get it at the time. I really do now.  Why Susan Moore School allowed a gypsy fortune teller to come talk to the kids is beyond me. Why this person told some of the kids the things she did is even more so beyond me. She made some kids cry. This little memory served as a reminder of why I homeschool. My kids are not being exposed to things that God says to stay away from.

Deuteronomy 18:13-15~You shall be blameless before the LORD your God, 14for these nations, which you are about to dispossess, listen to fortune-tellers and to diviners. But as for you, the LORD your God has not allowed you to do this.

Deuteronomy 18:10~There shall not be found among you anyone who burns his son or his daughter as an offering, anyone who practices divination or tells fortunes or interprets omens, or a sorcerer

Parents, we need to be on guard at all times. We need to teach our children what the Bible says about the big things that we feel are important (like salvation, repentance….) and the things that seem a little weird (sorcery, etc…) I didn’t know at that time fortune tellers were doing something that was against God. I didn’t realize later on life that ouija boards were bad. Or that reading books on paranormal and occultist things was so bad. I read almost every book that my high school library had on occults. I could tell you about auras, ghosts, crystals, you name it. It wasn’t until God brought me to a point where He scared the bejeepbers out of me that I started getting out of that and into the Bible. I am so glad He did.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Something Really Random

  1. Yuck! I am glad I don’t have to deal with that kind of situation with my children. One of the many, many reasons I am glad to be able to homeschool.

    Not only that, I like being with my children. Even my oldest has complained about never being home anymore. He thinks working 40 plus hours a week is much worse than school with mom. 🙂 He doesn’t know he should be a rebellious teen.

    Berean Wife

  2. mskelli on said:

    WHAT?!?!!? Your son would rather be home with his family?!!?!?!? What kind of crazy indoctrination is going on there??? For real, it is amazing to see the difference in closeness that comes along with homeschool.

Leave a Reply

