The Land of Boys

Learning to live in a house full of testosterone

Beautiful Hymn

We have been using The Center For Church Music online to study about hymns.  Funny thing, until just a few years ago I thought I did not like hymns. That is because most of the churches I have gone to over the years use the Baptist Hymnal and some of them have seemed to pick out the shallowest most uninspiring songs from the whole book.  Certain times of the year we would sing The Star Bangled Banner. Over the past few years several Christian artists (sorry Berean Wife!) have recorded old hymns.  I LOVE them! Rock of Ages, Come Thy Fount of Every Blessing, Be Thou My Vision, there are so many great ones. (My fave is Before the Throne of God Above by Selah!) Each week the Center for Church Music has a hymn featured. So far each week that we have studied a hymn it has been great. Nathaniel is amazed that Jesus, Thou Joy of Loving Hearts was written so long ago. (1150, over 800 years ago!!) Samuel’s favorite so far has been O, the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus. (we also love that one by Selah) Benjamin likes watching videos of the songs we are studying being performed by Enfield at the Resolved Conference that Mark went to last summer. The hymn we are studying this week is one I have never heard of before. It is so beautiful!! This song is like a prayer that has been set to music. I hope that you find these words as inspiring as I do. If you click on the link to the Center for Church Music you can listen to a choir singing it.  Hope you enjoy!!

May the mind of Christ, my Savior,Live in me from day to day, By His love and power controlling All I do and say.

May the Word of God dwell richly In my heart from hour to hour, So that all may see I triumph Only through His power.

May the peace of God my Father Rule my life in everything, That I may be calm to comfort Sick and sorrowing.

May the love of Jesus fill me As the waters fill the sea; Him exalting, self abasing, This is victory.

May I run the race before me, Strong and brave to face the foe, Looking only unto Jesus As I onward go.

May His beauty rest upon me, As I seek the lost to win, And may they forget the channel, Seeing only Him.

PS. Huge thanks to Annemarie for sharing the link to Center for Church Music!!! I am discovering so many songs I never knew I liked!!!!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Hymn

  1. Kelli,

    You might be surprised to know my daughter actually plays some Matt Redmon and Chris Tomlin songs. But the CCM I have discussed it that stuff mostly the youth listen to, such as Toby Mac, Skillet, Family Force 5, and Switchfoot.

    But you are correct there are some very poor and shallow songs in the Baptist Hymnal that have downright bad theology. So all “hymns” are equal either.

    I’ll have to check out The Center for Church Music. A couple of churches we visit use many much older hymns. The hymns are great and full of depth but the tunes are hard to sing. One song has the title ”How Tedious And Tasteless The Hours”, it actually isn’t bad, but the kids laugh and say that fits with some of the tunes.

    Berean Wife

  2. mskelli on said:

    I have to admit that I am a fan of Toby Mac and Switchfoot. I really consider Switchfoot, Skillet, and Family Force 5 secular. Toby Mac is weird. Some of his songs are …..odd. But then he comes along with Lose My Soul and City on Our Knees. They are not deep, theological hymns, but they are thought provoking.
    At one church we used to sing a song called “All Creatures That on Earth Do Dwell”. The tune was the same as “Doxology”. There was a line that contained the words “for it is seemly so to do” For some reason that always cracked me up.

    Do your kids ever listen to Todd Agnew? He’s one of my faves.

  3. They don’t really listen to much music of that type. My oldest will listen to some in the evenings when he is working on computers. My daughter listens to mostly classical music. The younger children like audio books.

    Todd Agnew wrote a song that our previous church used at Christmas “In The First Light”.

    Berean Wife

    • mskelli on said:

      We are all over the place musically. We might listen to oldies going down the road (Samuel does some little hand motions to “Just my Imagination that are cute) or we might be listening to hymns. We did some composer studies last year and the boys really started liking Mozart and Bach. Just about anything can be heard around here. (although the boys are anti- country) Well, we don’t really listen to rap or heavy metal. (some of that is scary)

  4. I love, love, LOVE that song! It’s been one of my favorites for years- it’s lyrics are the prayer of my life.

  5. We sang this song in the church I grew up in years ago! A young man brought it to our attention after he had been away at college and heard it there. I love this one, too! You really don’t hear it very often.

Leave a Reply

