The Land of Boys

Learning to live in a house full of testosterone

Advice For Those Who Have To Deal With Pesky Computerized Customer Service Calls

I really hate calling somewhere and hearing “Press ___ for ______……“. The only thing worse is getting a voice recognition computer. Sometimes those things are good. More often than not, however, they are more trouble than they are worth. They are especially bad if you have a southern accent. Southern accents seem to not be well-recognized. ;-} One time I was getting so frustrated I was actually yelling into the phone. Mark had a funny idea. He said when prompted to say something I should say, “A big acorn level fluh,” loud and clear into the phone. If you are wondering he came up with THAT one, it comes form the movie Chicken Little. Chicken Little has been hit on the head by something he thinks is a piece of the sky. No one is believing him. People, er, animals are all around him, asking him questions. They see an acorn fall and decide that what hit him was just an acorn. He is so distraught that all he can do is mumble “A big acorn level fluh….” at them.

So  recently I had to call the AT&T cell phone store. I called the local store, not a nationwide 800 number. Guess what I got? A stinking computer!! One that wanted to know if I was calling about home phone, cell phone, internet service, or cable. Do you know what I did? I said, “A big acorn level fluh,” right into their computer.  Know what else? It worked!! The computer said, “I am sorry. I am having trouble understanding you. Let me connect you to a customer service representative.” I have to admit, it did make me smile. I got what needed to be done much more quickly than if I had kept answering the mind-numbing questions they were asking of me. So now, I am sharing my husband’s good advice with the rest of the world. Try it! See if it works for you! It just might brighten your day as much as it did mine.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Advice For Those Who Have To Deal With Pesky Computerized Customer Service Calls

  1. Ah, yes. The infernal automated phone system.
    Don’t you love it when you hear, “To hear your options in English, press or say ‘one’.”
    I refuse, do you hear me?!?!
    I refuse to press or say ‘one’ for English.
    Then my local utility company hangs up on me.

    Also, you get a customer service representative if you start shouting cuss words at it. Not that I’d know by experience… 😉
    “GIVE ME A FREAKING HUMAN BEING!!!”
    “Please hold. A representative will be with you momentarily.”
    That’s what I thought. 🙂

Leave a comment