The Land of Boys

Learning to live in a house full of testosterone

Do your Kids KNOW They are loved?

I mean really loved. Today my kids were drawing with sidewalk chalk. I was inside folding clothes. Samuel came in and said, “Hey, Mom, look out the window. I drew The Mona Lisa’s husband!!!” I look out and see this

Interesting looking chap, eh? I said, “Wow, that is very creative Samuel.”

He went gave me a big hug and trotted back out telling Benjamin, “I knew she would love it!” He then decided to draw the Mona Lisa

and their baby

Each time he came in he was a little more proud of his artistic creativity. He was giggling over the Mrs. having a large head and small body. Then he was laughing over the baby having such a small head and large body. It made me think of something I saw on TV a few years ago that stuck with me.  Barry Manilow was being interviewed by someone (Larry King, I think). The interviewer asked Barry why he thought so many Jewish people from Brooklyn have made it so successfully in the entertainment industry.  Mr. Manilow’s answer stuck with me.  He said when you grew up there you knew you were loved. You weren’t afraid to take chances because you knew you’d always have people at home that loved you whom you could go back to if things weren’t going so well. He said his family always believed in him and encouraged him. I want my kids to feel the same way. I want them to always know that even if it seems like the whole world is against them, they are loved. I want to raise them in a way that they are not ashamed of who they are. Mostly I want to raise them in a way that pleases God. My prayer for them is 2 Peter 3:18~But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.


Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Do your Kids KNOW They are loved?

  1. I love this post. Our Sunday night fellowship group just finished up a course in parenting, but it was a different type of course because it focused on our motives for good parenting, not the methods. And it reminded me of this. That I want them to *know* that I love them. Deep down to have that assurance.

    By the way, I love your new blog look!

    • mskelli on said:

      See, I could go to a parenting class like *that*. I don’t want to hear all the latest trends and fads. I need to hear how to parent and why to raise Godly children.
      Thanks for the compliment. I think you and Mark inspired me to freshen things up.

Leave a Reply

